Light Sync in TB15
About
The "Light Sync" toggle is available on the sync pull-down menu in the far upper right corner of TB15 desktop:
- Toggle ON stores your attachments in the cloud
- Toggle OFF downloads all attachments and stores them on your hard drive, as with earlier versions of TheBrain.
Light sync downloads attachments as needed. They are not removed from your local storage unless you request them to be (to save space for rarely accessed items for example). When syncing to a new device, light sync makes it possible to complete the initial sync hundreds of times faster.
Turning off light sync can be done at any time and this causes all attachments to be downloaded locally. Using light sync makes TheBrain a convenient way to share a large repository of documents where you don’t want to be constantly copying data between devices unless you actually need it. Even when an item is not local, its content is still searchable.
JSON export is unchanged from v14 in v15.
Light Sync Limitations
- Turning Light Sync OFF is required if you plan to switch between TB14 and TB15
- When Light Sync is turned ON, you will NOT be able to backup your attachments from the desktop.
Related
Learn More