Open in TheBrain

Manually Reordering Thoughts

Tips from Harlan on Manual Reordering Thoughts

04.10.26: The ordering of thoughts is a property of the link, not of the thought. This is what makes it possible to have different orders depending on which thought is active.


04.12.26: Changing the sort method rearranges the naturally ordered thoughts and does not affect the custom ordered items regardless of which thought is active.

Custom sorting is never lost unless you select the command to remove custom formatting, which removes it for the children, parents and jumps of the active thought. (This is undoable if you do it by accident) You can also temporarily ignore the custom formatting by unchecking it - it will return if you recheck it.

We should probably make a short video as it is much easier to digest when looking at an example. < Demo video pending . . . . .


04.16.26: Dragging to re-order thoughts only affects their order for the thought that is active while you are doing the dragging.

The only exception to this is dragging and reordering grandchildren/great-grandchildren etc, in outline and mind map layouts. In that case, you are setting the order the thoughts will appear in whenever they are displayed under the parent they appear under in the view. < MZ: Test


04.17.26: Custom Sort Indicator

When you right click (on the plex), and open the ‘sort thoughts by’ menu (see attached screenshot), you will see the command to clear custom ordering that appears only when custom ordered thoughts exist.

Other than the change to the menu (and the change to the ordering itself) there is no visible indicator that custom ordered thoughts are present.


See related child thoughts (tips) along with the following parent thought:

Attachments